***Monkey Academy***

Play dough…great arm workout

Posted on: October 25, 2009

I just worked out my arms making play dough for the little ones. I found a recipe online.

2 cups flour

1 cup salt

2 cups warm water

1 tbsp cream tartar

2 tbsp vegetable oil

food colouring

Mix everything together and stir away until it is stiff. That’ s where the workout begins. Then once it cools you knead in the food colouring. So after my hands have turned purple from the blue and red food colouring (your suppose to use gloves), and my arm feels like it is going to fall off, I’ve got play dough. woo hoo. The first time I tried to make this it didn’t turn out because it was too sticky, turns out you have to cook it longer. That’s what we’ll be doing this afternoon, playing with our play dough. I wanted to make our own since M2 is still very oral, so that way if he does put some in his mouth, I won’t freak out, although this is not an edible recipe. It doesn’t contain unknown chemicals like store bought ones.

Since we have rid our house of white flour, I had to use whole wheat flour. Not as smooth in texture but works well enough.

So in the end I have an activity to occupy the monkeys and I have worked out my arms…now onto the rest of my body, lol.

2 Responses to "Play dough…great arm workout"

That’s a fantastic recipe; it’s the same one the teacher @ my girls’ school used and we made pumpkin spiced playdough for Halloween. You know what another benefit for homeschooling is?

Well, apparently the same playdough that we made – the teacher had to take it away and all sensory equipment had to be locked up because they are scared of kids getting H1N1 ( so all that work and all the kids couldn’t play with it!!!)
Needless to say; me and the other parents were ticked off.

I might have to look into this homeschooling business. . . ๐Ÿ™‚

Hope you and the little ones are doing well ๐Ÿ˜€

Have you ever tried making edible play dough? I got the recipe from Jon & Kate and it is pretty easy to make. Not a lot of mixng at all.

Leave a Reply

Categories

